Miss Peregrine’s home for Peculiar Children

This book series is about children who have peculiarities. For example, the character Emma can make fire and the Millard character can become invisible.


The first book just being called Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children, the second is Hollow City and the last Library of Souls. Another two books that aren’t apart of this trio but are still to do with these kids.

An image from the cover of “Hollow City” by Ransom Riggs, the sequel to “Miss Peregrine’s Peculiar Children.” (Quirk Books)

The author Ransom Riggs is an American writer and film maker best known for this series. Ransom has written 7 books about all the ‘peculiars’. Miss Peregrine’s Home was published in 2011; the book was originally intended to be a picture book, with all the photos Ransom had collected.

The story line is that 11 peculiar children are forced into a time loop of September 3rd, 1940, after a bomb hits their house. The ‘peculiars’ are Emma Bloom, “a girl who can make fire with her hands”, Bronwyn Bruntley, “an unusually strong girl”, Millard Nullings, “an invisible boy, scholar of all things peculiar”, Horace Somnusson, “a boy who suffers from premonitory visions and dreams”, Enoch O’Connor, “who can animate the dead for brief periods of time”, Hugh Apiaston, “who commands and protects the many bees that live in his stomach”, Claire Densmore, “with an extra mouth in the back of her head; and the youngest of Miss Peregrine’s peculiar children, Fiona Frauenfeld, “a silent girl with a peculiar talent for making plants grow”.